REVIEWS: 2021 album, Just Transforming and single, Infinite We Are.


Album Review

Rhythms Mag, June/July 2021

"With it's gentle power, Just Transforming is aptly titled. It is a transformative experience filled with grace and gratitude during a time of tumult and change” - Jeff Jenkins

Album Review

The Australian, Saturday 10th July 2021

Folk - Just Transforming - 4 stars

“Lieberman’s luscious velvety singing is as soothing as ever, while her guitar and kora ( African harp) playing and the musicianship of her regular associates …. Is exemplary….. Joni Mitchel comes to mind as Lieberman soars into upper register on several songs.” - Tony Hillier

Album Review

Sydney Morning Herald, 18th June 2021

Pick of the Week Spectrum 4.5 stars

“When Miriam Lieberman sings, "Lay your burden down” on this album’s first song, Infinite We Are, it is as much a gentle exhortation as it is a call to arms. With its palette of celestial strings, lush harmonies, twinkling piano arpeggios and soft indie beats, there is a hypnotic, ever-shifting quality to Lieberman’s work that gives the impression that “transforming” is not something that frightens her…….

the lilting melodies, ethereal layering and gentle, rolling percussion soothe on every track. In an endearing Thank You for the Music-style tribute, the album closes with the plaintive, Music Will Set Us Free. If you’re not swaying with your eyes closed by this point, are you even listening? - Jessie Cunniffe

Read full SMH review.

Single Review

Rolling Stone Australia, May 2021

“The latest taste of Miriam Lieberman’s forthcoming album, Infinite We Are, is an enthralling, intoxicating piece of blissful wonder.” - Tyler Jenke

Read full Rolling Stone Review.

Single Review

Scenestr, 5th May 2021

“Stylish, polished folk that hints at colonial times, yet also features feathery-soft strings that evoke hauntingly beautiful memories to mind, Miriam Lieberman's latest single, Infinite We Are, is a mesmerising ride that vibes Kate Bush, but also sounds completely modern.”

Read full Scenestr review.

Single Review

27 Magazine, 13th May 2021

“There is a unique element to the tone and delivery of the music and lyrics that is almost indescribable. Magical harmonies, sweeping strings and a reverent, delicate arrangement characterise this song and it’s easy to get lost in it's soft power.“

“...presented beautifully through breathtaking strings arrangements – featuring Miriam herself on the kora, a 21-stringed African harp – intricate, developed vocal melodies and gentle, rolling percussion.“

Single Review

Sounds of Oz, 19th May 2021

“Miriam Lieberman has captivated me with her gorgeous new single, Infinite We Are. There’s a delicate, ethereal beauty about this one. Miriam’s voice is hypnotic and otherworldly. The strings and lush background harmonies only add to the magic.”

Read full Sounds of Oz Review

Single Review

Amnplify Online Publication, 11th May 2021

“There is something otherworldly about Infinite We Are. The track feels evocative of classic songwriters and storytellers Joni Mitchell and Paul Simon, but there is a unique element to the tone and delivery of the music and lyrics that is almost indescribable. Magical harmonies, sweeping strings and a reverent, delicate arrangement characterise this song and it’s easy to get lost in its soft power." - Dave Bruce

Read full Amnplify Review